RSS

small paintings, 5 acrylics, 2 oils

24 Mar

(I’ve added 2 acrylics, featured of the 25th and 27th, just because they fit here, so now there are 5 while I originally posted 3.)

It’s a bit hard to make even a small acrylic painting in the wet-on-wet style. These three, the stretched 31cm wide ones, show only partial success at the effect. The thicker rim of some strokes underneath hardened before the last was applied. I wasn’t using a retarder or a wet palette, thinking this little thing will go quick.

Notice the dots in these. If you ignore the dots you don’t “see” the painting. Moere on the function of these dots when I get around to a tutoring page.

The two oils, about the same size but on some old unstretched canvas, (so old I Gessoed an area for the paints; I quit stretching my own, and I feel bad letting an old roll of canvas just sit and gather moss) show how wet-on-wet ought to work.

photos using nikon coolpix by light coming in window shade side of building sunny morning.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 24, 2011 in art

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a comment